Saturday, May 9, 2009

ICC Cricket Committee to consider results of technology trial at its annual meeting on Monday and Tuesday

Feasibility of day/night Test cricket, over-rates and bad light, as well as bats, switch-hitting and a brainstorming session on the ODI format also up for discussion 

Group to be chaired for the first time by ex-West Indies captain Clive Lloyd; committee includes Mark Taylor, Ranjan Madugalle and Simon Taufel 

Media conference with Lloyd and ICC Chief Executive Haroon Lorgat set for conclusion of meeting on Tuesday afternoon; vision available through SNTV and photos available through Getty Images 

Consideration of the results of the recent trial of the umpires’ decision review system will form a key part of the agenda for the two-day meeting of the ICC Cricket Committee, which will meet at Lord’s in London on Monday and Tuesday (11 and 12 May). 

The trial, which saw players given the opportunity to ask for umpires’ decisions to be reviewed by the television umpire, took place in four Test series divning the past nine months, and the committee will consider whether or not to recommend a continuation of the system. 

The committee’s remit is to discuss and consult on any cricket-playing matters and to formulate recommendations to the Chief Executives’ Committee and the ICC Board for approval. The next meetings of those committees are set for Lord’s during the ICC’s annual conference week, from 22 to 26 June. 

Other items up for discussion by the ICC Cricket Committee include the feasibility of playing day/night Test cricket, how to improve over-rates in international cricket and the regulations governing bad light. 

The committee will also consider whether there should be a maximum weight of bats at international level and the effect of double-sided bats and switch-hits on the game. And it will brainstorm ideas to ensure ODI cricket remains relevant and popular in the face of a cricketing landscape that now features three formats of the game at international level 

The committee will be chaired for the first time by former West Indies captain and ICC Cricket World Cup winner Clive Lloyd, who takes over from ex-India captain Sunil Gavaskar. 

And the meeting will be attended by such highly respected figures within the world of cricket, including David Richardson, ICC General Manager – Cricket, former Australia captain Mark Taylor and Ian Bishop, the former West Indies fast bowler, the last two named now respected commentators on the game. 

It also features umpire of the year Simon Taufel, chief ICC match referee and former Sri Lanka captain Ranjan Madugalle, Kenya captain Steve Tikolo, South Africa coach Mickey Arthur and Tim May, the former Australia off-spinner and now the chief executive of the Federation of International Cricketers’ Associations. 

The committee is representative of all stakeholders in the modern game, including players, umpires and the media. 

Items to be discussed include the following: 

Use of technology – umpire decision review system trial 

The committee will discuss the results of the umpire decision review system, which was trialed in four separate Test series over the past nine months – Sri Lanka v India (August 2008), New Zealand v West Indies (December 2008), West Indies v England (February/March 2009) and South Africa v Australia (February/March 2009). 

The system afforded players the opportunity to request a review by the television umpire of a decision made by the on-field umpire they believed to be incorrect. The third official was able to view the available television pictures and relay information back to the umpire on the field who then had to decide whether or not to reverse his original decision. 

In the first two of the four series involved in the trial each side was allowed a maximum of three unsuccessful appeals per innings. This was reduced to two per side, per innings for the remaining series that formed part of the trial. 

The committee will consider the results of the trial, including the following factors: 

Was the number of overall incorrect umpiring decisions reduced?

Was there an undue negative influence on the pace of the game?

What was the effect on the players and did the process of placing the responsibility on the players for deciding whether a decision should be reviewed work?

Was the process (request for review, consultation and the conveying of the final decision) practical?

What was the effect on the umpires and was the authority of the on-field officials unduly compromised?

Were there any other positives or negatives to be considered?

The committee will consider whether it is appropriate to proceed with further use of the system, and if so, how and when that should take place. 

Playing conditions 

The committee will consider a series of areas relevant to international cricket. These include: 

The feasibility of day/night Test cricket

The improvement of over-rates in international cricket and, in particular, Test cricket

Regulations relating to bad light in international cricket.

The possibility of putting a limit on the number of fielders on the off-side in order to restrict negative bowling tactics


The committee will consider whether limits on the weight and depths of bats should be introduced specifically for international cricket. It will also consider any issues raised by the introduction of the double-sided bat and the switch-hit. 

Review of the ODI format 

The committee will decide whether there is a need to recommend any revisions to the One-Day International (ODI) format. 

The principle behind the agenda item is the desire to ensure the format continues to retain its relevance and popularity in a cricketing landscape in which there are now three versions of the game – Tests, ODIs and T20Is – at international level. 

The ICC Cricket Committee is made up of the following people: 

Chairman – Clive Lloyd (former West Indies captain) 

Past players (two) – Ian Bishop (former West Indies fast bowler) and Mark Taylor (ex-Australia captain) 

Representatives of current players (two) – Kumar Sangakkara (to send written comments due to his playing commitments) and Tim May (ex-Australia off-spinner, ICC Cricket World Cup winner in 1987 and now chief executive of the Federation of International Cricketers’ Associations) 

Full Member team coach representative (one) – Mickey Arthur (South Africa) 

Member Board representative (one) – Duleep Mendis (former Sri Lanka captain and now SLC chief executive) 

Associate representative (one) – Steve Tikolo (Kenya) 

Media representative (one) – Ravi Shastri (former India captain and all-rounder and now a widely-respected commentator – first meeting as member of this committee) 

Umpires’ representative (one) – Simon Taufel (member of the Emirates Elite Panel and named umpire of the year five times in a row at the LG ICC Awards) 

Referees’ representative (one) – Ranjan Madugalle (ICC chief match referee and former Sri Lanka captain) 

Marylebone Cricket Club representative (one) – Keith Bradshaw (MCC Secretary and Chief Executive; former first-class cricketer for Tasmania in Australia. The MCC is the custodian of the Laws of Cricket) 

Statistician (one) – David Kendix (a statistician/scorer and the man responsible for the creation and development of the Reliance Mobile ICC Test and ODI Championships) 

ICC President David Morgan, ICC Chief Executive Haroon Lorgat and ICC General Manager – Cricket David Richardson will also be in attendance.

No comments: