Sunday, February 5, 2012

IND VD AUS 1st ODI highlights

India Innings
30th over: India 151 all out, lose the match by 65 runs.
26th over: Dhoni out! Holes out to David Warner at long-off. Doherty gets his second wicket. India 129/9.
Dhoni c Warner b Doherty 29 (38)
24th over: Rahul Sharma and Ravichandra Ashwin also return to the pavilion. It's all but over for India. Xavier Doherty cleans up Rahul to take his first wicket.
Rahul Sharma b Doherty 1 (2)
Daniel Christian runs to his right from third man and his direct throw disturbs the stumps with Ashwin way off the crease.
Ashwin run out 5 (3b)
23th over: Jadeja out,India 118/6. Pulls it really hard but fails to clear the ropes as Michael Hussey takes a brilliant catch at deep mid-wicket.
Jadeja c MEK Hussey b McKay 19 (25)
20th over India 105/5. Need another 112 runs in 12 overs to win the match. MS Dhoni has a big job on his hands! Around 30,000 people in attendance. Great atmosphere!
15th over: Raina out. Attempts a pull off Daniel Christian. It all goes wrong as he finds David Hussey at mid-wicket. India 79/5.
Suresh Raina c DJ Hussey b Christian 4 (9)
12th over Clint McKay removes Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma in an over. India 67 for four. Rohit is the first to go, edges one short of a length through to the keeper.
Rohit Sharma c †Wade b McKay 21 (21)
Kohli hits it straight to Ponting at shortish backward point.
Kohli c Ponting b McKay 31 (34)
8th over The bowling powerplay has been taken. Both Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma look confident. A good partnership is the need of the hour. India are 38 for 2.
4th over Gambhir out! Second wicket for Starc. The ball kicks up from back of a length and Gambhir edges to wicket-keeper Matthew Wade. India 15/2.
Gambhir c †Wade b Starc 5 (8)
2nd over Sachin Tendulkar out! Tendulkar hits it straight to Ricky Ponting at point. Mitchell Starc breaks through for Australia.
Tendulkar c Ponting b Starc 2 (6)
1st over: India begin their chase. Ryan Harris opens the bowling for Australia. Sachin Tendular, who is playing his first ODI since the World Cup final in April last year, is yet to open his account. India 4 for no loss.
Australia Innings
32nd over Australia finish on 216/5. David Hussey makes 61 not out, his 7th fifty. He does it in style with a six off Ashwin.
Matthew Wade top-scored for the hosts with a 67 while Vinay Kumar was the pick of Indian bowlers with figures of 3/21.
28th over Australia 170 for 5.
27th over: Michael Hussey out! Kohli takes an easy catch at deep square-leg off the bowling of Vinay Kumar, who claims his third scalp.
Michael Hussey c Kohli b Vinay Kumar 45 (32)
26th over: Australia 156 for 4 in 26 overs. Michael Hussey five runs away form his fifty.
20 over Australia 100 for 3. Wade reaches fifty on debut.
13th over Australia are 43/2. They now need some quick runs considering they have only 32 overs and that they scored only 35 runs out of 11 overs of that.
12:45 p.m. Play resumes after a long rain drama. It's now a 32-overs-a-side contest.
12:20 p.m. The covers are coming off again. Let's hope we have seen the last of the rain. It could now be 32-overs a side contest. Play to resume at 12:45 pm.
11:50 a.m. The rain is back. Now serious doubts linger over the match. Too much rain and no play makes us all dull!
11:36 a.m. The covers are coming off - once again. Let's hope the action begins soon. The MCG's drainage system is excellent and if it does not rain again, play will resume soon, for sure. However, there will be more overs reduced.
11:03 a.m. It has started raining once again. The covers are back on. It's becoming increasingly frustrating.
10:45 a.m. Rain stops. Play will resume shortly. It's now 46-overs a side.
10:15 a.m. It's still raining. Next update at 10:45 a.m.
11th over Australia 35 for 2. Wade smashes Praveen for a six and a four. It has started raining, the players walk off. Next update at 10.15 a.m.
8th over Ricky Ponting out! Plays it straight to Suresh Raina at short extra-cover. Second wicket for Vinay Kumar.
Ponting c Raina b Vinay Kumar 2(12)
6th over: Warner out! Vinay cleans him up bowling from around the wicket, bringing the ball into the left-hander.
Warner b Vinay Kumar 6 (14)
5th over Warner and Wade are having a tough time in the middle. Praveen Kumar and Vinay Kumar are swinging the ball big time. Finally, Australia get their first boundary. Wade hits Praveen through the covers for a four. Australia 15 for no loss.
1st over Praveen Kumar opens the bowling. Australia 3 for no loss.
8:25 a.m. Dhoni wins the toss, India will bowl first. Virender Sehwag has been rested. Daniel Christian and Matthew Wade get a game for Australia. Debut for keeper Wade!
Blustery wind all around at the MCG. Rain has been forecasted. Australia legend Ian Chappell says the pitch is good for batting but may slow down as the game progresses.
8:03 a.m. Good Morning! Welcome to the triangular series opener between India and Australia at the MCG. Bad news for Brett Lee fans: he has been ruled of the series on account of a broken foot. Unfortunate for the pacer who has long been battling several injuries.

No comments: